Decades Project - US History HonorsAmerican Indian Project - US HistoryGCHS Ends the Stigma - PsychologySocial Controversy Debate - Current IssuesJunior English Research PaperJunior Film Research PaperAP Literature Literary Criticism AssignmentWriting an EditorialThe Roaring TwentiesBudgeting ProjectSophomore Honors English - Research SpeechNational Political Convention 1848Dystopian Independent Novel Assignment2016 Mock Election ProjectWorld History Unit 2 Project
This is the "Research" page of the "Grayslake Central LRC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Mar 23, 2017 URL: http://d127.libguides.com/gchs_lrc Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Databases

ABC-CLIO History     

 

American Government, American History and World Geography.    

 

Culture Grams 

 

Links students to country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture. In-depth reports covering 200+ countries, the United States, and Canada.

 

Daily Herald 

 

Access to the Daily Herald newpapers from the last 30 days.

 

First Search 

 

The catalog for inter-library loan.

 

GALE

 

Student Resources in Context, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Global Issues in Context, US History in Context, World History in Context, LitFinder, Literature Criticism

 

GALE - Science in Context

 

JSTOR 

 

Database of digitized scholarly journals from many disciplines.

 

Lake County News Sun 

 

E-Edition of the daily Lake County News Sun and past 30 days of issues. 

Username: grayslake 
Password: rams

 

NoodleBib 

 

Use this generator to create citations, share bibliographies and create notecards.

 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers 

 

This is an excellent archive for primary newspaper articles. It dates back to 1791.

 

ProQuest Newstand 

 

Current Newspapers, replaces Newsbank, includes foreign papers too.

 

SIRS Decades 

 

Primary and secondary sources by decade.

 

SIRS Researcher 

 

Pamphlet, magazine and newspaper articles.  Good for Pro/Con Issues.

 

US Government Printing Office Digital Site

 

Includes the Congressional Record, bills and budget.

 

 

English Websites


American Authors Edit
American Authors contains information on Authors, Literary Movements, selected bibliographies and timelines.
Art of the Harlem Renaissance Edit
Documents the rich artistic legacy of the Harlem Renaissance rages from the music of Duke Ellington and Bessie Smith, to the paintings of Aaron Douglas and the poetry of Langston Hughes.
Bartleby Edit
Bartleby.com combines the best of both contemporary and classic reference works into the most comprehensive public reference library ever published on the web.
Encyclopedia Mythica Edit
Encyclopedia Mythica is an encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, legends, and more. It contains over 6100 definitions of gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world.
Literary Resources on the Net Edit
Search by subject or category.
Literature & Life: The Givens Collection Edit
Literature & Life: the Givens Collection explores a unique collection of African-American literature and the people, ideas, and eras that the work represents.
Perseus Digital Library Edit
Perseus Digital Library is an evolving digital library includes more than 420 works by 31 authors in both Greek and English. It also includes an encyclopedia and a searchable atlas of the ancient world.
Perspectives in American Literature Edit
Perspectives in American Literature (PAL) is a research and reference guide that offers links from Early American Literature to the late 20th century literature.
Resources for Teen Writers Edit
Links for teen writers.
Shakespeare Edit
Contains thousands of pages of content on the life and work of the world's greatest author, including eNotes to more than 20 titles.
Sophomore Project
The Academy of American Poets
The Academy of American Poets site that includes Find a Poet, Find a Poem and a Listening Booth.
The Best of the Humanities on the Web from the Nat
The Best of the Humanities on the Web from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
The Poets
The Poets from the Anthology of Modern American Poetry site can be searched, poems are analyzed and 161 poet companion sites are linked.
Voices from the Gap: Women Artists and Writers of:
Provides links to humanities and humanities-related resources on the Internet. Its mission has been to provide a structured and briefly annotated guide to online sources.
 

General Reference Websites

General Reference Databases

NotesFilter
Library Spot
Includes encyclopedias, maps, online libraries, quotations, dictionaries and more.
O'Keefe Library
"Best Information on the Net" for reference.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Search for information on 100's of occupations by keyword.
Statistical Resources on the Web
Includes stats on science, crime, weather, crops and more.

 

Homework Databases

NotesFilter
High School Ace
Online learning center.
Infomine
Scholarly internet resource collections.
IPL Teenspace
Links for homework help and ideas for teen reading.
Multnomah County Library
Great links for homework and research.
Vanguard University Links
Vanguard University subject resource links.

 

Biography Databases

NotesFilter
American National Biography
Includes biographical information on people for all eras who have influenced American history and culture.
American National Biography Online
Biographical work on people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history.
Gallery of Achievers
Biographies of achievers of all fields from around the world.

 

Bibliography Databases

NotesFilter
Citation Machine
Fill in the blank bibliography maker.
NoodleTools
Generate citations in NoodleBib Express and copy and paste them into your document.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip