Decades Project - US History HonorsAmerican Indian Project - US HistoryGCHS Ends the Stigma - PsychologySocial Controversy Debate - Current IssuesJunior English Research PaperJunior Film Research PaperAP Literature Literary Criticism AssignmentWriting an EditorialThe Roaring TwentiesBudgeting ProjectSophomore Honors English - Research SpeechNational Political Convention 1848Dystopian Independent Novel Assignment2016 Mock Election ProjectWorld History Unit 2 Project
This is the "GCHS Ends the Stigma - Psychology" page of the "Grayslake Central LRC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Feb 15, 2017 URL: http://d127.libguides.com/gchs_lrc Print Guide RSS Updates

GCHS Ends the Stigma - Psychology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment

GCHS Ends the Stigma              

STIGMA: “a mark of disgrace associated with a particular circumstance, quality, or person”

Abnormal Psychology and the study of mental illness will be the final unit of this course. In order to make the information meaningful, we will not only research some of the most common disorders prevalent in our country, but attempt to help our school and community “end the stigma” of mental illness.

Although we have made many positive strides in how we think and talk about people with mental illness, there is still a sense of discomfort and ignorance in the country about the people who suffer from these various disorders.

As a class, we will be compiling the knowledge we collect and presenting it in different forms as a social awareness campaign titled “GCHS Ends the Stigma”. 

The goals for this project are as follows:

1.       Raise awareness

2.       Make a difference

3.       Take action

4.       Drive change

In groups of 1, 2 or 3, you will be choosing from the following disorders:

  • Depression & Suicide
  • Personality Disorders
  • ADD/ADHD
  • Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
  • Antisocial Personality Disorder
  • Body Dysmorphic Disorder
  • Anxiety & Panic Disorders
  • Phobias (Specific & Social)  
  • Dissociative Identity Disorder
  • Schizophrenia  
  • Posttraumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)    
  • Gender Dysphoria
  • Bipolar Disorder (aka Manic-Depression)    
  • Eating Disorders  
  • Others??

You will have today to do preliminary research on these disorders and must rank them in order of most interested (1) to least interested (14).  If you are very passionate about one of the disorders, please write your reason WHY you want to research a particular disorder. Your ranks and reasoning must be handed in or emailed to me by the end of the period.  I will then use these ranks and reasoning to assign topics.

I will be there the entire process to help guide you in the right direction, and am always willing to answer any questions that may come up.  The great majority of the work will be completed in class, so part of your evaluation on this project will be your utilization of the time and resources provided to you. Additionally, the quality of your research is of the utmost importance, as you will be acting as the expert on your disorder and disseminating that information to your peers and community.

This will be counted as your final exam grade!

Step 1: Research/Quality of Information (Due FRIDAY, MAY 6th) – 75 points

You will gather DETAILED information on the following aspects of your disorder, with citations for each:

  • Causes
  • History of your disorder (different names, how diagnosis has changed over time, etc).
  • Symptoms – one of your sources MUST be the DSM V (in the LRC)
  • Treatments
  • Associated disorders

You can take notes in any format that you like, but it will be helpful to organize everything that you find before creating your visual source. You should have a minimum of 8 sources, all of which are cited on your final product. If you are unsure of the validity of a source, please check that with me! You will have many days in class throughout the rest of the semester to do research & create your project.

The final products (outlined below) must be complete BY THE END OF CLASS ON FRIDAY, May 6th  

 

Step 2: Create Awareness & A Plan of Action (Due TUESDAY, MAY 17th– 50 points

The second part of your final project will demonstrate your problem-solving ability for erasing the stigma associated with mental illness. Your task is below:

You are a high school guidance counselor, and the teachers have brought to your attention an important matter: several students at the school who have mental illness themselves or families members with mental illness are being ostracized, and their classmates are making fun of them. It has become a big problem, and the teachers want you to find a way to address the issue.

As the school guidance counselor, your job is to develop a school-wide plan to address the issue and help erase the stigma associated with mental illness. How will you give the students this information in an age-appropriate way? What information do they need to have? What methods will you use to disseminate this information? (EX: assembly, video campaign, posters)

Your plan must be presented in a proposal to the principal before it can be implemented. It must include:

  • at least one visual (i.e. poster, powerpoint, brochure, prezi, website, video, etc) that incorporates your research
  • a plan for (or an actual) social media component (Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, blog, etc.)
  • a timeline for the program (dates in which you would need certain things done, when presentations/speakers would be, etc. à perhaps in the form of a planning calendar?)
  • a letter to teachers and parents explaining your plan, as well as an outline of all the information you will be presenting
  • More detailed information is welcome if you think it will contribute to your proposal. 

In the LRC, you will have access to all of the databases as well as books that are relevant to each topic (and mental illness in general).

Each group will be required to use the DSM-V, which is only in the LRC.  You can make copies of the sections in your disorder, and then share it with another group.  We will have multiple days in the LRC, so if you don’t get it the first day, we will make sure you have an opportunity to use the book.

 

Step 3: Exploring the other projects – 25 points

This will take place during finals week!

Step 4: Reflection (Due TUESDAY, MAY 17th) – 25 points

You will write a 1-2 page typed reflection on your experience with this project:

  • What was the most difficult part about this project?
  • What did you most enjoy about this project?
  • What did you learn from this project (big picture)?
  • What changes would you make to this project for classes in future years?

________________________________________

Some other helpful websites (in addition to databases) for your research:

General Overviews/Background information:

 http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/publications/the-numbers-count-mental-disorders-in-america/index.shtml#Intro

https://www.nami.org/

http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/mental-illness/basics/definition/con-20033813

http://www.psychologytoday.com/

Articles, Videos, Case Studies, Blogs:

:http://www.mhhe.com/socscience/psychology/faces/bigvid.swf

http://www.pinterest.com/bipolarbandit/blogs-about-mental-illness-mental-health/

http://topics.nytimes.com/top/news/health/diseasesconditionsandhealthtopics/mentalhealthanddisorders/

http://www.cnn.com/HEALTH/mentalhealth/archive/

Cool infographics:

 http://www.gmeded.com/gme-info-graphics/

http://piktochart.com/ (create your own)

Creating your own website options:

www.weebly.com

http://www.glogster.com/

http://www.wix.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Online Books

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders
Provides understandable yet detailed information on mental disorders and conditions, written in language understandable to the adult layperson. Includes entries for all 150 disorders classified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, text revision (DSM-IV-TR). It also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
This single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information. More than 650 articles -- 65% of those are entirely new or updated since the last edition.

 

Visual Options

Create an Info-Graphic! 

Create a Website!

  • Google Sites (access through Google Drive)
  • Weebly
  • Wix

Create an Online Poster/Flyer

Create a Cartoon!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip